Rutgers University Awards & Recognition

The award was established in 1981 by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), an international organization that works in cooperation with the Carnegie Foundation and various higher-education associations in its administration.

The award recognizes a professor's impact on and involvement with undergraduate students; scholarly approach to teaching and learning; contribution to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession; and support from colleagues and current and former undergraduate students.

2006 - Barry V. Qualls

SAS Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education is the highest teaching award given to Rutgers faculty holding the rank of Associate Professor.

2009 - Emily C. Bartels
2006 - Martin Gliserman

The Presidential Fellowships for Teaching Excellence is a newly created award that honors newly tenured faculty members for outstanding teaching and scholarly work.

2012 - Ann Jurecic

2011 - Evie Shockley

2009 - Gregory S. Jackson

2009 - Edlie L. Wong


The Rutgers Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research is Rutgers University's highest honor for outstanding research contributions to a discipline or to society by a tenured faculty member.

2012 - John Kucich

2006Cheryl A. Wall

2005 - Marianne DeKoven

2004 - William H. Galperin 

2002 - Michael Warner 

1998 - Bruce Robbins 

1997 - John Belton

1996 - Susan Crane

1995Myra Jehlen

1994 - Derek Attridge 

1992Michael McKeon

1990 - George Levine

1987 - Alicia Ostriker

1984 - Elaine Showalter

1982 - John Richetti 

1978 - Richard Poirer

1971  - Paul Fussell

1967  - Frances Ferguson 

The Rutgers Board of Trustees Research Fellowship for Scholarly Excellence honors faculty members who have recently been promoted with tenure and whose work shows exceptional promise.

2012 - David Kurnick

2011 - Evie Shockley

2009 - Gregory S. Jackson


This award, sponsored by the Rutgers College Class of 1962, recognizes distinguished, uncompensated service that reaches beyond the university community.

2001 - Barry V. Qualls

1992 - Abena P.A. Busia

1991 - Carol Smith

1987 - Cheryl A. Wall

The Scholar-Teacher Award was established in 2000 to honor tenured professors who make exceptional connections between their academic research and their teaching. Professor Spellmeyer is the first faculty member in English to receive this award.

2010 - Carolyn Williams

2006 - Richard E. Miller

2004 - Kurt Spellmeyer

The Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching is Rutgers University's highest honor for outstanding and innovative performance in the classroom by a tenured faculty member. It is named in memory of Professor Susman, a prominent cultural historian and popular teacher. Professor Emily C. Bartels 2009 Susman Award makes her the thirteenth English Department professor to receive this honor.

Rutgers English is home to more Susman Award winners than any other department.

2009 - Emily C. Bartels

2006 - John A. McClure

2004 - Ronald Levao

2003 - Marianne DeKoven

1999 - Carolyn Williams 

1997 - Cheryl A. Wall 

1996 - Ann Baynes Coiro

1994 - Harriet Davidson

1993 - Daniel A. Harris  

1990 - Thomas R. Edwards 

1989 - Bridget G. Lyons 

1987 - Maurice M. Charney 

1985 - Barry V. Qualls