Department of English

  • Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

faculty bookshelf






Faculty News

Evie Shockley has been awarded a Rutgers Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award for 2013-2014.

This prize is designed to honor tenured professors who make exceptional connections between their academic research and their teaching.

Cheryl Wall has been named winner of the university’s Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award.

The Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award, named to honor the memory of a noted mathematician and Rutgers University Professor, is awarded to a Rutgers faculty member who best exemplifies imaginative research and dedicated and exceptional service to the University.  I’m sure you will agree that Cheryl amply deserves such a commendation.

Cheryl Wall is only the second member of our department to win this award--and the first in nearly twenty years.

354:308 Screenwriting

01  W 7,8  CAC   67662  MARTINEZ   MU -002
02  M 7,8 CAC  67989     NUTT      MU-002
03 TH2, 3 CAC  68120  PEARLSTEIN   MU-002
04  W 2,3   CAC  70502  PEARLSTEIN  MU-002
05  F 4,5  CAC  71097   NUTT    MU-002

This course is intended to introduce students to the basics of screenwriting, including: dramatic action, story, structure and character.

04-Writing for Television
In this course students will be introduced to the basics of professional TV writing.  Through the analysis of Sitcoms, Hour Dramas and Comedy Sketches students will become familiar with all of the fundamentals of a strong teleplay.  Group and individual exercises will lead each student to create an outline, a treatment and then a complete draft of a television show in whichever style they choose.

Focus will be placed on all of the major dynamics of a strong dramatic structure.  The group will explore topics such as Finding Stories, Working with a Cast of Characters, Scene Structures, Dramatic Tension, Writing Dialogue and Creating Satisfactory Resolutions.

A range of classic and contemporary television programs will be studied including the works of Norman Lear, Susan Harris, MTM Productions, Stephen Bochco, Sid Caesar, Tina Fey and Dave Chappelle.

You are here: Faculty