Welcome to the Department of English at Rutgers University

The Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching is Rutgers University's highest honor for outstanding and innovative performance in the classroom by a tenured faculty member. It is named in memory of Professor Susman, a prominent cultural historian and popular teacher. Professor Emily C. Bartels 2009 Susman Award makes her the thirteenth English Department professor to receive this honor.

Rutgers English is home to more Susman Award winners than any other department.

2009 - Emily C. Bartels

2006 - John A. McClure

2004 - Ronald Levao

2003 - Marianne DeKoven

1999 - Carolyn Williams

1997 - Cheryl A. Wall 

1996 - Ann Baynes Coiro

1994 - Harriet Davidson

1993 - Daniel A. Harris  

1990 - Thomas R. Edwards 

1989 - Bridget G. Lyons 

1987 - Maurice M. Charney 

1985 - Barry V. Qualls

why english wide


 Undergraduate Students


Graduate Program in English


Statue of "Willie the Silent"